31 January 2022

PARLIAMENTARIANS' CALL
FOR A FOSSIL FUEL FREE FUTURE

Dear Honorable Members of Parliaments

Warm greetings!

The world is running out of time to stop climate change from reaching catastrophic levels. Part 1 of the Assessment Report #6 (AR6) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) released last August 2021 confirms - the planet has already warmed to an average of 1.09 degree Celsius. Countries all over the world have been experiencing its devastating impacts and we are facing even greater risks and harms in the years to come. To keep on track with fulfilling the goal of the Paris Climate Agreement to keep global temperature rise to below 1.5 degrees Celsius, we need a swift, equitable and just transition out of fossil fuels.

In this regard, 19 members of parliaments from the global south initiated the **Parliamentarians' Call for a Fossil Fuel Free Future**. We are seeking to add the voices of climate-concerned parliamentarians' to persuade governments, public institutions and corporations to take more decisive climate actions particularly in shifting away from fossil fuels and accelerating the development of renewable and clean energy systems. The Parliamentarian's Call shall be released to leaders of governments worldwide before mid June 2022.

To-date more than 240 members of Parliaments from 63 countries have signed the call.

May we request you to join us by signing on to the **Parliamentarians' Call for a Fossil Fuel Free Future?** The copy is attached to this letter. You may sign via this link https://forms.gle/2JMSi6o6ALQ2ETic8

You may also visit our website www.fossilfuelfreefuture.org.

As representatives of the people, parliamentarians have a key role to play in boosting efforts to tackle climate change.

We are very much looking forward to hearing from you. Thank you very much!

CHARLES SANTIAGO

Member of Parliament, Malaysia

LOREN LEGARDA

Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Philippines

On behalf of our fellow INITIATORS

Saber Chowdhury

Member of Parliament, BANGLADESH

Juanita Goebertus Estrada

Member of Parliament, COLOMBIA

Paola Vega

Member of Parliament, COSTA RICA

Willy Aditya

Member of Parliament, INDONESIA

Mercy Chriesty Barends, ST

Member of Parliament, INDONESIA

Diah Pitaloka

Member of Parliament, INDONESIA

Banuera Berina

Member of Parliament, KIRIBATI

Riaz Fatyana

Member of Parliament, PAKISTAN

Stevenson Jakey Kuartei

Senator, National Congress, PALAU

Risa Hontiveros

Senator, Senate of the PHILIPPINES

Argel Cabatbat

Representative, House of Representatives, PHILIPPINES

France Castro

Representative, House of Representatives, PHILIPPINES

Jose Christopher 'Kit' Belmonte

Representative, House of Representatives, PHILIPPINES

Sarah Elago

Representative, House of Representatives, PHILIPPINES

Frank Habineza

Member of Parliament, RWANDA

Nqabayomzi Kwankwa

Member of Parliament, SOUTH AFRICA

Abel da Silva

Member of Parliament, TIMOR LESTE